Projects deleted from your SCM remain on Snyk so we can maintain your project's vulnerability history.
If this is problematic for you, you can either delete them or deactivate them.
Deleting a project will:
- Delete the project and all historical snapshot data from Snyk.
- Remove the webhook from the GitHub repository, if this is the last project in Snyk from this target.
- This will not affect your source code (deleting a project will not affect your originating source code repository).
- Please note that there is no way to restore a deleted project, and it will lose all history, ignores and tags.
Deactivating a project will:
- Remove the webhook from the SCM repository.
- Disable pull request tests for new vulnerabilities.
- Disable fix pull requests from being opened for newly disclosed vulnerabilities.
- Disable recurring tests - email alerts about newly disclosed vulnerabilities will be turned off.
- Remove the project from Reporting
- You can re-enable a project in the future by clicking on the 'Activate' link on your projects page or the specific project page.
There are several options for how to delete or deactivate projects
Option 1 as marked: From the Projects page, if you have Group by Targets enabled, you can delete all projects associated with a target.
Option 2 as marked: With either Group by Targets or Group by None enabled, you can also select individual projects using the project checkbox, and then select either the Pause symbol to deactivate, or the bin symbol to delete the selected projects.
- You can also use this method to select multiple projects that are currently deactivated, and press the play button to reactivate them.
When viewing a single project, you can also delete or deactivate/reactivate the project from the project's settings page.
In order to set up your Github/Github Enterprise SCM so it automatically syncs with your Snyk imports, we created a script which contains this feature and more. Using this process with a Github/GithubEnterprise SCM will deactivate projects that are no longer in your SCM. The sync function is not compatible with other SCMs.
Please check more details about this tool, its prerequisites and limitations here:
We are actively working on providing a better customer experience and adding this feature to our core experience is on our roadmap.